Today, Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms. With billions of monthly active users, through Facebook, you can keep in touch with friends and reconnect with your old school buddies in case you lost contact with them. At times, Facebook can become very addictive that you spend hours after hours, and sometimes it can get annoying with all notifications.
Since you’re reading this, it is safe to assume that you already bear plenty of knowledge on FB. So, without exaggerating, let’s get straight to the point and learn about deactivating and deleting a Facebook account.
I will also show you the step by step process of deactivating and deleting your Facebook account.
Facebook support: Facebook Customer Service
Compare between Deactivating and Deleting Facebook Account
The account is completely erasing your data including messages, photos and everything you shared with Facebook permanently.
Deactivate your Facebook account shows
When you deactivate your FB account, Facebook freezes your data, making your profile invisible to other users.
- Your profile will not appear in the search result.
- People can’t see your timeline, although the messages you sent will be visible to your friends as the messages are stored in your friend’s profile.
- Your profile will remain visible to your friend list without the profile picture, and they cannot access your account.
- Your information will remain as it is with Facebook.
- You can sign-in any time, and the account will automatically reactivate after you sign in.
You can also read: How to deactivate facebook account
After deleting an Facebook account?
- Facebook starts the process of deleting the account after 30 days of receiving the request to delete the same.
- If you sign-in during these 30 days, Facebook cancels the deletion process.
- Even after deleting the account, your friends can still read the messages you sent earlier.
The way to Deactivate Facebook Account?
Step 1: Go to ‘Settings’
Step 2: Under ‘General Settings’ you will find ‘Manage Account’. Click on ‘Edit’.
Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom, and you’ll find ‘Deactivate your account’. Go ahead and click there.
Step 4: Now, you have to enter your password to confirm your identity.
Step 5: Give you the reason for deactivating the account.
Step 6: A warning popup will appear in case you change your thought. Click on it.
Step 7: Final popup will appear to let you know that your account is successfully deactivated.
The way to Delete Facebook Accounts?
Step 1: Reach to the settings.
Step 2: Under ‘Your Facebook Information’ you will find ‘Delete your account and Information’. Click there.
Step 3: A popup will appear offering you two options as:
I recommended downloading a copy of your information as once you delete your account some of your data will be lost permanently.
Step 4: Next, you have to enter your password to confirm that it’s you trying to delete your Facebook account.
Step 5: Now, a final popup will appear warning you about the process.
Step 6: Your account is now scheduled for deletion. The process will start after 30 days. So, if you change your mind, you can log-in into Facebook like you usually do.